What Happens While on Probation For a Massachusetts OUI?
If you’ve been found guilty, or plead out to a Continuance Without a Finding (CWOF), for a first offense DUI charge in Massachusetts, you’ll most likely be on probation for a year.
Here is the most likely 1st offense OUI probation scenario:
- You will have to fill out and mail a card to your probation officer every month. This is what is called “unsupervised probation“. You won’t have to meet with a probation officer every month, the postcards will be considered your “check in”.
- You will have to pay a probation fee of $65 per month.
- If you are convicted of a crime during your probation period, it will have very serious consequences. But you’d have to be convicted of a criminal act for that to occur, and not a civil infraction such as a speeding ticket.
- Do not drive on a suspended license, or outside the hours of your hardship license. This would be a criminal offense and violate your probation.
OUI Probation Violation Penalties?
If you violate your probation, a warrant will be issued for your arrest. You could potentially go to jail based on a violation of your probabation. Particularly if it is after a 2nd offense DUI conviction or greater.
Whatever you did that violated your probation: Drove on a supended license, were charged with another crime, left the state without notifying your probation officer – could be a serious legal problem.
If you made a mistake, we can argue that it was a one-time mistake, or a misunderstanding.
Please contact us to find out how we can help you fix this problem before it becomes even more serious.
If you have an outstanding warrant relating to a Massachusetts drunk driving charge, even if it is decades old, the best thing to do is address it as quickly as possible. With increased computerized records, it’s quite common for old arrest warrants to come back to haunt you, if a police officer ever runs your license plate for any reason.
Particularly with an old arrest, many times the court and arrest documents are lost, and these cases can be dismissed. But only if you are proactive in taking care of the case. You lose all leverage after you’ve been arrested on a warrant for probation violation or skipping out on a court date (failure to appear).
Contact me about your previous unresolved DUI charge, and I’ll let you know what I can do to clear it up.
Call me phone 24 hours a day at (781) 380-7730 to talk about your case. I’ll lay out all your options step by step. And remember, my initial phone consultation is absolutely free, with no obligation.
Russell Matson, Attorney at Law.
Call Russell Matson’s cell phone to talk to a drunk driving attorney anytime at (781) 380-7730.