A hardship license (also referred to as a Cinderella license, restricted license, work license, or limited use license) is available from Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles after you’ve had your license suspended due to a OUI / DUI / drunk driving disposition, guilty plea, or continuance without a finding (CWOF).
A restricted hardship license allows you to drive for 12 hours a day to get to and from work (such as 7am to 7pm). The Massachusetts RMV which charge you $500 for the cost of the hearing and the license.
How Do I Get a Hardship License after my Mass DUI?
For the RMV to issue a hardship license while your regular license is under suspension, you need must qualify and document the need at a Registry Hearing. You will need:
- a letter from your employer on company letterhead stating that you need to drive to get to work, and your work hours
- documentation, in the form of maps that show your route to work, and that it is not possible to get their via public transportation
- proof of enrollment in an alcohol education program
If you are self-employed, you need to bring documentation of your articles of business registration or incorporation.
It takes about a week after your court appearance for the Registry to process your license suspension information, and insure eligibility.
Help Getting a Massachusetts Hardship License
If you are need a hardship license, but aren’t sure how to get one, please contact me for help in dealing with the registry hearings process.
Call (800) 961 – 8125 for a Hardship License Consultation in Massachusetts.
If I am your lawyer an OUI charge, as a special service, I will also represent at a Registry hearing to help you work through the process of getting a hardship license. The paperwork requirements are very specific, and it is easy to get them wrong.
As part of my firm’s services, we will:
- Confirm with the Mass Registry that your OUI court paperwork has been received
- Go over you paperwork and make sure you have met all the requirements
- Go to the Registry hearing with you to insure that everything goes smoothly, and that you walk out with a hardship license.
If you are thinking about pleading guilty to an OUI / drunk driving charge, and are wondering if you would qualify for a hardship license, please call me about the specifics of your case and I’d be happy to go over the details with you. Current law passed makes it relatively easy for most people with a 180 day suspended license for refusing a breath test after an OUI arrest (1st offense) to get a limited-use hardship license.
It’s an important service I provide to make the transition back to normalcy as easy as possible for you.
– Russell Matson, Massachusetts Attorney at Law (800) 961 – 8125
For more info, please refer to my Massachusetts Hardship License FAQ page.
INFORMATION SHEET FOR MGL c. 90, s.24D FIRST (1st) OFFENSE OUI HARDSHIP LICENSE APPLICATIONS TO THE REGISTRY OF MOTOR VEHICLESFollowing is information regarding the availability of hardship licenses for people whose OUI cases have been disposed of in court pursuant to MGL c. 90, s. 24D on or after June 30, 2003. Please be advised that this information is being provided solely for the purpose of allowing a defendant to better prepare for their hardship hearing before appearing at the Registry, and that the Registry may require other documents or information before rendering a decision. At a minimum, please be aware of the following:
- Hardship licenses are available on any case where a defendant has been properly granted a disposition under MGL c. 90, s. 24D. The Registrar will not entertain requests in cases where the records of the agency reflect that such a disposition was not available to the defendant.
- In order to allow for the courts and the Registry to exchange information regarding these dispositions, hardship applicants must wait 3 business days after their court date before appearing at the Registry, and MUST first have appeared for in-take at their assigned first offender program. Example: On a court disposition on Monday, you may not appear at the Registry until Thursday.
- Hardship applications may only be made at Registry locations that conduct hearings. Presently, those branches are: Boston (630 Washington Street), Brockton, North Attleboro, Lowell, Worcester, Springfield, and Lawrence. These locations are subject to change without notice.
- You may not operate a motor vehicle until such time as a hardship license may be granted. Any evidence that you have been driving since you have been suspended in this matter will be grounds for denial of your application.
- You must provide the following documentation at the hearing: · Proof of hardship (i.e. employment, education, medical, etc.) · Proof of enrollment in a Massachusetts First Offender Program approved by the Department of Public Health. No out of state programs are authorized by MGL c. 90, s. 24D. You must first appear at the first offenders program that you have been assigned to for your initial interview, and have that documented on letterhead from the program.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Hardship licenses are not available under this law if you are suspended or revoked for any reason apart from this case, if charges other than OUI in this case cause you to be suspended or revoked, or if these charges combined with other incidents on your driving record result in other suspension or revocation action.
Call to talk to an attorney anytime at (800) 961 – 8125.